Sad News This Morning

This happened last night after the Angels game.  Very sad…

 

Angels rookie Adenhart killed in hit-and-run crash

pitcher2

ANAHEIM, Calif. (AP)—Los Angeles Angels rookie pitcher Nick Adenhart and two other people were killed Thursday when a minivan ran a red light and struck their sports car.

Adenhart, 22, died after undergoing surgery, University of California, Irvine Medical Center spokesman John Murray said.

A fourth person remained hospitalized in critical condition.

The Angels confirmed Adenhart’s death in a statement and said no other members of the Angels organization were involved in the accident.

“The Angels family has suffered a tremendous loss today. We are deeply saddened and shocked by this tragic loss. Our thoughts and prayers go out to Nick’s family, friends’ loved ones and fans,” general manager Tony Reagins said.

The team said Adenhart was survived by his parents, Jim and Janet.

“He lived his dream and was blessed to be part of an organization comprised of such warm, caring, and compassionate people,” the family said in a statement issued through the team.

“The Angels were his extended family. Thanks to all of Nick’s loyal supporters and fans throughout his career. He will always be in everyone’s hearts forever.”

Adenhart, of Silver Spring, Md., was the Angels’ No. 3 starter. He threw six scoreless innings in Wednesday night’s loss to Oakland in his fourth major-league start and first of the season.

Adenhart and three other people were in a silver Mitsubishi that was struck shortly before 12:30 a.m. by a minivan that ran a red light and also hit another vehicle, police said.

The sports car struck a light pole, killing three people inside.

Police Lt. Craig Brower said the minivan driver fled the crash scene and was captured a short time later. The driver was arrested and booked for investigation of felony hit-and-run.

Adenhart, a right-hander, earned a spot in the starting rotation on an injury-plagued Angels staff by impressing manager Mike Scioscia late in spring training.

The pitcher made his major league debut May 1 of last year, also against Oakland. He made two other starts, getting his only decision in a victory over the Chicago White Sox on May 12. He was 37-28 in the minor leagues from 2005-08, including 9-13 last year at Triple-A Salt Lake.

The Minnesota Twins held moment of silence before their game against the Seattle Mariners. Also, there was to be a moment of silence before the start of the Texas Rangers’ home game against the Cleveland Indians.

Such a great kid and way too young to die.

***************************************************************************************

I pulled a real boner!!  The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) sent me a registration renewal form way back in November. My registration was due to expire in February. When it came time to pay it I discovered that I had lost the form. I tried to pay online but I couldn’t because of a required code on the form.  Figuring that in February they would send me a new form, I waited, and waited, and waited.  What was I thinking?  I finally receive a new form in April.  I had been illegal for two months.  They added a nice little $98 late fee so I owed them $217.  So I go online to pay it but oops!!  I need to get a smog test first!  Another $60!  Consider it my bailout contribution.  I’m legal now but just glad I didn’t get pulled over or it would have cost even more!  I think that next time, I’ll be paying it early!!!

Now the smog test!  I HATE them!  It’s always some shabby little hole in the wall place that smells of oil, gasoline and, and I think, urine!!  I know these places are licensed by the State but every one I go to is run by a short Asian guy, missing half of his teeth and speaking very little English.  They even test your gas cap!!!  ????  So while I was waiting (40 Minutes!), I took advantage of their amenities.  A folding chair, under a torn umbrella with a copy of last Saturday’s L A Times.  A very pleasant afternoon.  For some reason, when they are finished, they always extend a greasy hand and want to shake.  I smile and wave.

So how was your Wednesday??  Today is MUCH better!  Next week I get to bring Bonnie and Baxter in for Rabies shots.  Always a circus!  My music should be back on Saturday!

Take care

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sad News This Morning

  1. Carolyn says:

    How so very sad was the driver drinking? that’s almost always the case my prayers are with the families So sad.on a lighter note you got the Car legal. and have fun at the circus with Bonnie and Baxter next week,well hope the rest of the day is better. so take care. Carolyn

  2. Beth says:

    I just watched this report on CNN. How very devastating for everyone concerned. My condolences to his family.Hugs,Beth

  3. CAROL says:

    OH BOB I saw this all over the news tonight too. SO very sad and his folks were at the GAME… auggghhhh I sure hope they got a chance to talk to him. : ( I hope the guy gets life for what he did.. he took three other lives away.. it is just so damn disgusting .. I am so ooo glad we dont have to smog check things here.. I had to do that in CA when I lived there. what apain n the rear… You are right about the places too. Take care have a great EASTER.. : )

  4. Dana says:

    That was such sad news. What a loss that is, he’s so young.And uck, regarding your test, we use to have to do that in Alaska too. BIG waste of money ad like you said I think the time could be better spent testing their urine than my car! Hope tomorrow is better for you!

  5. Shelly says:

    Hope your day is better. I too have to renew my drivers licence this month and my HD plates. UGH! Money money everywhere! Take care ttfn And HAPPY EASTER

  6. Cin says:

    Very sad about the young pitcher. http://www.thotlady.com

  7. Sue says:

    So sad about the pitcher–heard it on the news last night too. Glad you posted the story about him. The DMV probably makes more from late fees than any other department in the world!!! We were given a car by a friend who had had it in his barn for 6 years—the past registration fees we had to pay for our FREE car were outrageous—I had to keep telling myself, "But it’s a free car, but it’s a free car!" Glad you DIDN’T get caught by the cops. You already more than paid for your mistake. Have a good Easter!

  8. Joe says:

    I heard about that wih the pitcher…wow, what a deal…just too sad! That’s a bummer with the license…expensive…yikes! We don’t have to mess with most of that stuff, renewals are far cheaper and less of a hassle…see another reason to move on down! You probably wouldn’t know what to do with the lack of red tape and silly hoops you have to jump through all the time!…maybe that’s why we get such awful winters to even things out LOL!

  9. Ms Noanie says:

    Very sad about the pitcher.I’m surprised your car passes the smog test in the environment you describe! I’m having my own Motor Vehicles problems – I got a speeding ticket when I was the Jersey shore – $105 and 4 points. I’ll be making the trip down to the municipal building on May 14 to fight it – hoping to get the points removed at the least. I’ll gladly pay the fine if they’ll do that for me – whadda ya think?Peace

  10. klaus says:

    I heard about the pitcher. I read, that his father had made the trip to see his start that night, because he had told his father that he felt it would be "something special"..it was apparently a very good start, but it is sad, what the "special " part may have been.Have a good day my friend.

  11. ♥ Aimee says:

    ha ha ha…sounds like me i drove for about 5 days without a license…when i got there to get it renewed she asked if Jax was my first…i must have looked pretty rough i guess…oh well we all make mistakes…~*:.♥.:*~ because you shared a smile :o) someone’s day got brighter… ~*:.♥.:*~

Leave a Reply

