Sparrows in the Cyprus

Not sure what’s going on but I have hundreds of Sparrows that took nest in my Cypress trees.  They make enough noise to wake me up in the morning. I tried to take pics but they are too small and fast!!  So here is their ‘home’:

cypress

I was about to have them cut down to half of their size until I realized that there were so many birds living and nesting there with eggs hatching, so I called it off until later in the summer.

Well today, the winds whipped up and the Sparrows, including the young ‘uns, are being blown out of the trees. A cat’s dream come true!!  Not much I can do cause when I walk out there they go crazy.  The little ones are having a very difficult time but no choice but to let Mother Nature run her course.

***************************************************************************************

Speaking of the wind, I saw Baxter in the yard today and a big gust blew through. Well with those huge ears of his, I thought he was gonna be flying around the yard like Dumbo!!  Boy!!  Did he run in fast!!

***************************************************************************************

JOKE OF THE DAY!

Wouldn’t we all love to do this just one time??

Letter Of Resignation

Mr. Baker,
As an employee of an institution of higher education, I have a few very basic expectations. Chief among these is that my direct superior shares an intellect that ranges above the common ground squirrel.

After your consistent and annoying harassment of myself, and my
co-workers during the commission of our duties, I can only surmise that you are one of the few true genetic wastes of our time.
Asking me, a network administrator, to explain every little nuance of everything I do each time you happen to stroll into my office is not only a waste of time, but also a waste of precious oxygen.

I was hired because I know about Unix, and you were apparently hired to provide amusement to myself and other employees, who watch you vainly attempt to understand the concept of "cut and paste" for the hundredth time.
You will never understand computers. Something as incredibly simple as binary still gives you too many options. You will also never understand why people hate you, but I am going to try and explain it to you, even though I am sure this will be just as effective as telling you what an
IP is.
Your shiny new iMac has more personality than you ever will. You walk around the building all day, shiftlessly looking for fault in others.You have a sharp-dressed, useless look about you that may have worked for your interview, but now that you actually have responsibility, you pawn it off on overworked staff, hoping their talent will cover for your glaring ineptitude.
In a world of managerial evolution, you are the blue-green algae that everyone else eats and laughs at.
Managers like you are a sad proof of the Dilbert principle.
Seeing as this situation is unlikely to change without you getting a full frontal lobotomy, I am forced to tender my resignation, however I have a few parting points.

 
1. When someone calls you in reference to employment, it is illegal to give me a bad recommendation. The most you can say to hurt me is "I prefer not to comment." I will have friends who I will have randomly call you over the next couple of years to keep you honest, because I know you would be unable to do it on your own.

 
2. I have all the passwords to every account on the system, and I know every password you have used for the last five years. If you decide to get cute, I am going to publish your "favorites list", which I conveniently saved when you made me "back up" your useless files. I believe that terms like "Lolita" are not usually viewed favorably by the administration.

3. When you borrowed the digital camera to "take pictures of your mothers b-day", you neglected to mention that you were going to take pictures of yourself in the mirror nude. Then you forgot to erase them like the techno-moron you really are. Suffice it to say I have never seen such odd acts with a ketchup bottle, but I assure you that those have been copied and kept in safe places pending the authoring of a glowing letter of recommendation. (Try to use a spell check please,I hate having to correct your damn mistakes.)

Thank you for your time, and I expect the letter of recommendation on my desk by 8:00 am tomorrow, not ONE minute later. One word of this to anybody and all of your little twisted repugnant obsessions will be open to the public. Never screw with your systems administrators, because they know what you do with all your free time.

 
Sincerely,
Ted Brewer

(An actual letter sent by a fed up U.S employee in Port Huncliff, New
England)

Have a Super Thursday!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sparrows in the Cyprus

  1. Dana says:

    Tee hee that is good. I’m going to forward that to my son who works with computers! Aww poor birdies, but yeah what can you do? We have a little mini forest section of our front yard and I hear GOBS of birds in there, different kinds too but never see them. So they’re probably nesting too. I tried to go in there once but the trees are those blue fir christmas trees and others and they’re all very pokey. It’s painful to go in there. The kids do it all the time playing spy.. kids are tougher than me!

  2. john says:

    A little bit "Solyent Green" algae, tongue not in cheek humor. The sparrows are amazing.

  3. Twila says:

    Great story Bob! Loved it! Too bad about the birdies…Hopefully the little ones can run faster than the neighborhood cats! 🙂

  4. .. says:

    Hahaha … I just imagined Baxter flying … LOL … poor fella!!! God thing you don’t cut the Cypress trees into half! Poor birds … and they sing for you every morning … OK, they drive you crazy, but they sing! Hmmm, I think it’s years since I haven’t seen a sparrow’s young. Sometimes I think … there’s really a high price to pay for living in a big city … no birds, cannot see the sky because of the tall metal and steel buildings, haven’t seen the bees last summer either, cannot see the stars night time … well high price indeed. Take good care of you and have a wonderful week. Alex xxx

  5. Grandma's says:

    Poor little birdies!! Those winds must have been howling pretty good.Good thing Baxter didn’t fly away on you….gotta watch the little fella when those winds start kicking up….he was smart to run inside. I love that Letter of Resignation LOLYou have a Super Thursday too Bob.

  6. Beth says:

    Poor sparrows, send them to Illinois. We will take care of them.Don’t make fun of my adorable Baxter’s ears. They are his best feature. lolHugs,Beth

  7. Shelly says:

    about the baby birds, if they are on the ground for more than 24 hours than they will get parasites. If you can put gloves on and put them in the tree, mom will take it from there. Just as long as they are not on the ground. ttfn

  8. Sue says:

    I think I’ve read this one on our site before, but it is still great! Hope your sparrows don’t lose too many of their chicks–I know you still have cats in your neighborhood! I can just picture Baxter and his ears pasted back from the sides of his head with the wind!! HA!

  9. Ms Noanie says:

    Love that letter – too funny. Yes, mother nature can be cruel at times. Poor birds.Peace

  10. Rambling says:

    I’d be happy to point and laugh…

  11. Jude says:

    We have that problem with baby birds and high winds all the time – I have no idea what to do to help out, though! :sHope you’re doing well. 🙂

  12. Joe says:

    High wind can surely cause problems for nesting birds…especially the small ones…we have enough high wind around here for that to happen from time to time. I can almost imagine Baxter flying LOL! That paints quite a picture!

Leave a Reply

