At Albertson’s Today

 
I went there to buy a few things and I saw this black man with tears streaming down his face… just wandering around.  He was close to my age. Me being me, I approached him while everyone else avoided the guy.  I asked him what was wrong and he told me that his wife and his little girl and he had been foreclosed and thrown out of their house, and he didn’t know what to do.  I took him aside and we talked for about 10 minutes and it turns out that his name is Bob and he served in Vietnam, as I did.  The company he worked for was downsized and he lost his job.  Through his tears he asked me if I had $5 to spare. He was so nice and polite.  I sat him down and we talked about his options.  Then I reached into my wallet and gave him the $100 bill that I had gotten for Christmas from my Mom.  That $100 was like a Million$$ to him!!  I’ll probably never see him again but that’s OK. I had to help him off his knees.  I told him NO beer, NO whiskey, NO cigarettes!!  Buy staples for your family!!  I followed him and he did buy rice, milk, potatoes, bread, etc.  Anyhow, it really got to me and I was glad I was able to help.  He kept saying, "Are You Sure?  Are You Sure???" Yes!  I was sure!!  I knew what I had to do.  We hugged and he walked away with a big smile on his face!  What a GREAT 4th of July!!  Ya know?  We can’t really depend on our government to "bail" people out.  They will bail out companies, banks and the auto industry but when it comes down to the man on the street, the backbone of this Country, they could care less!  So the next time you see a homeless guy or woman holding a little cardboard sign, please think twice before you drive by.  There, by the grace of God, go all of us!
 
No photos or crap tonight.  Only a song to get you thinking.   Rascal Flatts!
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to At Albertson’s Today

  1. Joe says:

    I think that a person has to really be led by their heart on these things. My wife and I have helped people out a little every once in a while even if it was something as small as a hot cup of coffee on a cold day and I’ve never regret it. I frankly don’t trust the government to bail anyone out of anything on a company level or any other way…not even on a basis of one person on the street. You did make me think my friend. Have a blessed day.

  2. Jude says:

    You are a very thoughtful and giving man. I’m proud to call you my friend. 🙂

  3. Beth says:

    You made me think and I am proud of you for what you did.

  4. BRIDGET says:

    You’re my hero.

  5. Sue says:

    Your kindness will be rewarded. I know you didn’t tell us this in hopes of getting patted on the back, but pats on the back and more is what you deserve. You’re a good man.

  6. Lori BJ says:

    Blessings to you Bob

  7. CAROL says:

    AMEN through the tornadoes and quakes and floods and hurricanes it could be any of us in a heart beat.. BRAVO to you BOB and big hugs too!!!

  8. Grandma's says:

    You did a wonderful thing Bob. You are absolutely right when you stated that the gov’t won’t bail out the little guy. It’s up to each one of us to help each other out….pity there aren’t more people around like you.God Bless

  9. Polly says:

    Just read your tagline, and I agree it’s courage that counts. Yours and his. Thank you.

  10. Jade says:

    ((HUG)) Good boy Bob… Thank You…..

  11. Kat says:

    Atta Bob-a-roo. Your kind heart is a beacon to us all.*many hugs*

  12. Sue says:

    Kudos to you for your generosity! We need more people like you!!! Big hugs and have a great 4th of July weekend. Some day, if you need a hand, there will be people there to help you for sure!

  13. Cindy says:

    ((((Hugs))))So kind.

  14. artsylady says:

    Thanks Bob! There, but for he grace of God……Jeanne

  15. Dana says:

    Oh Bob you are the greatest. I have such respect for you with your kind heart and your ability to see past the outside stuff. Now when I do a kind thing I will call it "bobbing it" I can assure you that I will be doing it more often! You had no judgements, you just did what you felt was the right thing to do. That my friend is so admirable.

  16. R U Serious says:

    It’s late and I broke my glasses, so I’ll comment to you all indivivually tomorrorw but I really appreciatete your comments and hope Bob does well. He has been on my mind. You all are the BEST!! Now if only i could see !! LOL!Have a Wonderful week!!Bob~

  17. John says:

    You know the ol saying what goes around comes around, well it looks like something good will be coming around to you! (Not talking about your Glasses)John

  18. SAMANTHA says:

    Wow that is really cool…That is what it means when you see "WWJD" What Would Jeues Do….that is what he is talking about:) Thanks for sharing, mybe we can all remember that and follow in one way or the another:)-Samantha Thomas

  19. Duckie says:

    It is this type of behavior that got us through the great depression. It is time that we all keep our eyes and hearts open.

  20. Gina says:

    What a wonderful thing you did, my friend. You are awesome. :o)

  21. ♥ Aimee says:

    you are an incredible man…for sure you have left a mark on that man that will always be remembered…and possibly even passed on!~*:.♥.:*~ because you shared a smile :o) someone’s day got brighter… ~*:.♥.:*~

  22. Shelly says:

    You are an angel from the heavens above. You may not want to agree with me but I know better. Things like this don’t happen everday. And you didn’t hesitate to help. Angel! Not only did you give the guy money… anybody could do that, but you talked and LISTENED to him. Nobody does that except your angels. So you go on today and know that not only are you my hero from your past and what you had to go through to ensure our safety and freedom. But you are my hero for the heart you have. xoxoxoLuv you BOB! xoxo

  23. klaus says:

    Very respectable of you my friend. I hope this person remembers that someday when he is in a position to help…if each person passed the help along, things would probably be much better.Hope you find your glasses :)k~

  24. Twila says:

    WTG Bob! You brought tears to my eyes….I’ve always known that under that crusty exterior there beats a heart as big as the all outdoors! And it’s a ‘soft’ heart too. You old softie. Just kidding…I’ve done stuff like that before, but never to that extent. It does touch your heart to see people in the predicaments they’re in of late. And it does your heart good too, to know that you were able to help, no matter how big or small. If everyone would follow your footsteps, the world would truly be a better place.Sorry I’m so late in reading this. I’ve had Kaeden here for the past 3 weeks which means I get NO time for myself and NO time on my own computer! :)Hope you and Becky had a great holiday weekend and that all is going well now. I’m reading my way UP. 😉

Leave a Reply

