My Other Hero – My Dad

Since I already told you about my uncle…

My Dad and Mom are both 88 years old.  Up until last year they were still very active but they seem to be going fast.  My mom, sister and I have always worried about him because up until a few years he would insist on climbing on he roof (2 story house) to perform repairs to the roof.  He never fell off but drove us crazy!  We would steady the ladder and she suggested holding a bedsheet to catch him.  Yeah…. Right!!

My sister lives fairly close to them and is trying to get them to move in with her but they resist.  I keep in close contact with Sis and yesterday she told me that she now has power of attorney, so that’s good.  I won’t go into detail but they are no longer able to care for themselves.  They won’t answer my calls and tried to chase my sister away the last time she visited.  They didn’t recognize her!!!  So Sad…

Anyhow, My dad served in the Navy on a Heavy Cruiser as a Radio man, fighting the Japanese.  One of his jobs (exploits??) was to climb the mast during a Typhoon to repair a wire…. 4 times!!  He hated it!  During boot camp, in Georgia, they were chicken every day and he never would eat it again.

My Mom and Dad were High School sweethearts and while he was in the Pacific she bought the house they currently live in, and I was raised in, for $9000!  When he came home, 9 months later, I was born!  Talk about not wasting time!!

Me at one year!!  LOL!!

Bob At One Year!

Dad got a job at RCA and worked there for 50 years!  By the time he retired  ( he had to take the bus to work EVERYDAY!!) he had accumulated one week’s vacation per month!!!  Nice!! 

He has always been an honest, hard working man and provided for his family.  This is hard for me but you are all my friends.  Maybe I’ll post more soon.  I’m not taking this well….!

Later……………

Appropriate song today

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Other Hero – My Dad

  1. Joe says:

    It is very sad not to be recognized by your own parents. I witnessed that with my grandma on my mom’s side, it was heartbreaking to say the least. It’s good that they have someone to care for them however, thank God for that. I love that picture of you Bob, I can see your personality even back then. Bless you my friend.

  2. ♥ Aimee says:

    sounds like your parents and Kenny and i have a lot in common…aren’t you supposed to get pregnant right away?~*:.♥.:*~ because you shared a smile :o) someone’s day got brighter… ~*:.♥.:*~

  3. GreatGranny says:

    I can see why he is your hero and so glad you have a sister close by to watch over them. This is such a cute baby picture.

  4. Sue says:

    No matter how old you yourself are, when it comes to our parents, we will always be children deep down. Although losing a parent is the natural order of things, watching someone who was once so strong decline has to be one of the hardest things to go through. Thinking of you.

  5. Jade says:

    yes, it is SO difficult! I have to say that talking about it on here helps a bit ❤

  6. Sue says:

    It IS hard to see your parents decline–my Mom just turned 92. Makes me feel so OLD. Hey, come visit me sometime, BOB—I miss your cool comments!!!

  7. Fizz says:

    Thank God papa has the good sense not to climb onto the roof. At 79, that would worry me. He has problems with his hips. So your dad was in the Pacific. A true hero, too. He was in some good action, and a heavy cruiser would have been interesting. Do you know which Air Craft Carrier his cruiser was assigned to? They were part of a whole support team of ships from Destoyers to Battle Ships that defended an air craft carrier. Your day may have been in Iwo Jima…I’m sorry, I know this is tuff for you. Much love and grace your way…

  8. Sanjana says:

    oh im so sorry Bob………..understand how tough it must be ………wanting so hard to help and not being allowed to………….wish things were better……….yout ake care bob………..

Leave a Reply

