Devil Cactus!

 
As you can imagine, their is alot of cactus growing in Southern California (along with those ‘rat;s nests" palm trees).  Well we have our share of cactus growing on our property.  Some are friendly, some not so friendly and and then there’s the ‘Devil Cactus!! 
 
 
As you can see, I spent part of yesterday cutting this one back.
 
Tools Required??
 Old BBQ tongs, elbow-length leather gloves, a really long lopper and a prayer!  And after all that, the thing still got me! 
 
See those red things??  I swear they jump at you… like tiny magnets!!
 
Anyhow, in order to embarass myself yet one more time on Spaces, here is a story from 15 years ago.
 
On the way home from work, I pick up a six-pack of Corona beer in bottles.  I come in the gate and set the beer down on the planter, next to the cactus while check the mail.  When I return, the beer has fallen into the cactus (I still blame the cactus for drawing it in!  lol).
 
Thinking nothing of it, I pop one open.  OMG!!!!  Cactus spines all over my lips and tongue!  Hundreds!!  No way to pull them out and my mouth is on fire!  That was my first mistake…  My second was my bright idea of using an electric shaver to shave my lips and tongue!!    My friends?  NEVER DO THAT!!!  After 3 days I was OK, but what a 3 days it was!
 
BTW, if you ever run into a Devil Cactus with those tiny spines, locate them and apply some white glue (Elmers’s) to your skin and when it dries, simply peel it off.
 
 
*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************
 
Here is a new (X-Rated) photo of Baxter!
 
 
And my new cat, ‘Long Neck!!’  LOL!!
 
 
I hope you are all enjoying your Labor Day and didn’t have to work today.
 
Song for today:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Devil Cactus!

  1. Ann says:

    You’re right about the cactus spines – they jump out at you.

  2. maillady says:

    Shaving your tongue? What were you thinking? LOL

  3. Stephen says:

    That’s some ugly mean cactus you have growing there. We have a bee’s nest under our front door and we’ve been spraying stuff on them as much as we can. Any story that starts with "Corona" is sure to be a hit. 🙂

  4. Kuskulana says:

    That is a devil cactus to steal your beer, at least it has good taste, Elmer’s glue and Corona Beer, never would have connected those dots LOLInteresting pets you have there, I saw stuff lke that on Venice Beach once :)Like the songs says, doin allright here!

  5. Kat says:

    Dude…seriously…you shaved your tongue?? hahahahaha!! Such a dork!

  6. Stephanie says:

    Oh that Baxter, ever the tease! As for you and the cactus spines…. I’ll be a good friend and not tell you I’m laughing at your big bubba self! LMAO I mean really… Becky should remind you often of that! LMAO! BIG HUGS, Steph

  7. CoCo says:

    Bob, you’ve got some evil plants there. lol Cute pic of Baxter and love the cat pics.

  8. Dana says:

    LOL I’m not sure I would repeat the cactus beer story but it is funny! Baxter, you old hound dog! LOL The elmer glue trick in ingenious. I’ll have to let my cousin in AZ know about that one!

  9. john says:

    If it had been anything but Corona, the cacti would of never bothered to pilfer the brews. Actually if I was still in the big city with the moochy neighbor that would work pretty good.

  10. Fizz says:

    dood… An electric shaver… come on, you’re smarter than that!

  11. Sue says:

    Glad to see you fenced in the Devil! If I were you, I’d plant them on the fence line of the neighbor I like the LEAST—sounds like a good defense system. Love the "Long necked Cat" pic! You should send that in to a photo contest! The glue trick sounds like a good idea—I used to love to put it on my fingers as a kid and peel it off!

  12. Laoch says:

    Wow, those are impressive plants.

  13. Twila says:

    LOL again Bob! You’ve made my day. That cat reminds me of me….catching myself coming and going!

  14. Jade says:

    That thing is still there?!have those gardeners take it away!!!Baxter is sooo cute 😀

Leave a Reply

