Soupy Sales

 

When I was a kid, I used to love this show.  I probably still would!!

October 23, 2009

Even though the occasion is sad, there is something oddly bracing in setting out to write about a man who called himself "Soupy." We need more Soupys in this self-important, don’t-you-dare-throw-that-pie world — and now there is one less, Soupy Sales having died Thursday at the age of 83.

Born Milton Supman to the only Jewish family in Franklinton, N.C., Sales first got into children’s television in Detroit in 1953 — he also had a grown-up nighttime show there — but his years of greatest renown were from 1959 to 1966, when he worked out of Los Angeles and New York and was seen all over the country. His costume, such as it was, comprised a black pullover sweater and a floppy bow tie; early on he also wore a top hat, later on he ditched the tie.

Soupy

My memory of "The Soupy Sales Show" (originally "Lunch with Soupy Sales") is not of specific bits, but an impression of noise and energy and a cheap, sketchy set fit with the usual appurtenances of a midcentury kids’ show: a window (for Pookie the lion puppet to appear in), a door (for Soupy to answer). Waving in from the side of the frame were the paws of his otherwise unseen very big dogs, White Fang, the Biggest and Meanest Dog in the USA, and Black Tooth, the Biggest and Sweetest Dog in the USA, whom I never could keep straight in spite of the color-coding. (White Fang is the one I would imitate by saying, "Oh-reah-oh-reh-uh," unless it was Black Tooth.) There were pies in the face, mostly in Soupy’s face, though sometimes in the face of a celebrity guest: Frank Sinatra took one, and so did Tony Curtis. The jokes were already old when vaudeville was new: "Show me a giant rooster chasing a member of Parliament…. And I’ll show you a chicken catch a Tory." ("Now, just what do we mean by that?" Soupy said afterward, never answering the question.)

The corniness was knowing — it was jazz, basically, like a bop musician ad-libbing on "Sweet Sue." Not so much written as riffed, "The Soupy Sales Show" was both hip and elemental, obscure and accessible, because even when it was obscure it was silly and energetic. Although the show was ostensibly for kids, the sound of laughter coming off the screen was wholly that of the grown men on the crew, to whom Soupy would play as a nightclub comic plays to the band. (That is a sound you don’t hear much on TV now, the sound of the laughing crew.)

It is true that children like a reassuring voice of gentle authority, but it is also true that they like to go where the wild things are. They like an adult who does not talk down to them, but they particularly like an adult who doesn’t talk down to them because he is already on their level.

There is more kids’ television now than ever; whole networks are devoted to it. And yet with all those hours to fill, you will find nothing like Soupy Sales.

I hope that some of you were old enough to have seen his show.  Too funny!

PS:  You can watch excerpts of his shows on YouTube.  Still makes me LOL!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Soupy Sales

  1. Joe says:

    I’m really not old enough Bob, I’ve never even heard of it actually!

  2. Dana says:

    I remember him appearing on the Johnny Carson show but not his show. I loved his humor. I think Johnny and Ed got a pie in the face. So sad to see the oldie but goodies go. And this is how old I am, I didn’t even realize he could be that old now!

  3. Jacque says:

    I remember seeing Soupy Sales on some show…….possibly The Carol Burnett Show where he sang "I’m in With the In Crowd".I don’t know why but it stuck in my memory. :)Thanks for posting this

  4. Grandma's says:

    Oh yeah….I do remember "The Soupy Sales Show". Loved it!! Hate to admit I’m that old…but I am. I was also a huge fan of Red Skelton (Clem Kaddidlehopper being my favorite)."Goodnight and May God Bless"…..how often do we hear a show end like that anymore!! Those were the good old days!!

  5. Sue says:

    Yes, I remember him too. He was a card! One always had to be on the lookout for that elusive pie when he was around…Does anyone know what he did later in life? I don’t remember seeing him in too many movies or other shows. Hope he’s still throwing pies, where ever he is…

  6. Jade says:

    I used to do the soupy sales dance where you put your thumbs in your ears and kick your feet around & waggle your hands LOL!!!

  7. maillady says:

    I used to do the Soupy Sales dance too! Sad that he’s gone. There’ll never be another. Of course, I watched Casey Jones and Kaptain Kangaroo too!

  8. Twila says:

    I do remember him and his pies. Remember the show but not much about it. Mostly remember his name and his pie tossing. Didn’t realize he was still alive though, well, until yesterday.

  9. Twila says:

    Oh and Bob? GO YANKEES! 🙂 Too bad the Angels didn’t leave Saunders in just a bit longer. 🙂

  10. klaus says:

    Hey Bob, glad that your favorite team will go anyway. Too bad for the Angels though, would have been nice for them after what happened to their pitcher earlier in the year.

  11. Laoch says:

    So Bob is the Yankees or the Phillies? I think it is pretty evenly matched even though the Yankees are big favorites. If I was a betting man I would bet on the Phillies since the odds are so favorable.

  12. Jo Ann says:

    I do not think I ever watched Soupy Sales. I watched Captain Kangaroo though. I do know Soupy was a very funny man. He will be missed.Always,Jo Ann

  13. Sanjana says:

    hey you!!!!!!!!!!Absconding??? Why????? I dotn know why i even bother really excpet perhaps that you havet the best music playing always……..lol…………….take care be good and continue absconding…………….

  14. Stephanie says:

    I know who he is, but don’t remember the shows. I was a Captain Kangaroo kid. Every morning before kindergarten. I loved the animal segments and Mr Green Jeans. BIG HUGS, Steph

Leave a Reply

