Veterans Day – 90th Anniversary

 

I’m a Veteran of two tours of duty in Vietnam but do not honor me.  It is the Veterans of WWII that truly need to be honored and remembered.  So fly your flags and buy your poppies but most of all, remember. It’s always a rough day for me.  I lost alot of good friends.

I read this today and wanted to share it with you.

WWII Museum: The number of WWII veterans is dwindling

William P. Rutledge

Member, Board of Trustees, the National World War II Museum, New Orleans, Louisiana

Today, Nov. 11, commemorates the 90th anniversary of Veterans Day in America. I encourage all Californians to seek out and thank a veteran for their service to our country, especially those who fought in World War II like my friend, Ollie Thomas, who was a tank commander with Patton’s Third Army. For these men and women, this day grows only more poignant with each passing year because those who fought that war for us are leaving us.

As a member of the Board of Trustees of The National World War II Museum in New Orleans, I attended the opening of its new expansion last week. Though the event was celebratory, I left with some sobering statistics that illustrate the urgency of cementing the legacy of our World War II veterans while they are still with us.

In 2000, there were 555,974, WWII veterans in California, according to U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. There are now 213,118. Ten years from now, just 30,370 will be alive. Across the nation, we lose 900 WWII veterans a day.

It is urgent that we honor these heroes now, while there is time. Strangely, given the scope, magnitude and importance of World War II, America had been woefully late in acknowledging a debt we can never repay to those who defended the liberty we take for granted.

That is why completing The National World War II Museum is so important. In 2003, Congress designated the institution as the nation’s World War II museum, preserving the legacy and telling the story of the "Greatest Generation."

It holds their memories and is a monument to their valor, but it’s also a place where all Americans can come to learn the important lessons of World War II for all generations: freedom is not free.

The National World War II Museum tells the story in the words and voices of those who fought the war and faced its horrors. To visit it is to remember the lesson that peace without the resolve to defend freedom only brings blood, sweat, toil and tears. Its artifacts – aircraft, landing craft and personal accounts – link us to the young Americans who fought in WWII. They purchased for us a precious birthright we can’t take for granted. And while reminding visitors of the sacrifices we made then, the National World War II Museum also symbolizes renewal. As it grows into its new campus in downtown New Orleans, the museum is helping with that city’s post-hurricane recovery and becoming an anchor for a reviving city.

As we observe this special day of remembrance and thanks, it is my hope that the nation recognizes the sacrifice of the "Greatest Generation" to the preservation of this country’s founding principles and the strength of the American spirit.

Again, I encourage you to seek out a World War II veteran and say "thank you." It might be the last chance you’ll get to meet a genuine hero.

Blog Photos 11th Hour, 11th Day, 11th month…..

My Veterans Day song – Alan Jackson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Veterans Day – 90th Anniversary

  1. john says:

    Had three uncles, a father and a stepfather, WWII

  2. Joe says:

    I know what you said but I honor ALL vets none the less my friend. Those that have served have still served no matter what theater of war they found themselves in. I’ve been marveling all day that I know veterans now that are combat vets that are younger than I am and I’m still in my thirties…just think of that. Bless you my friend, have a great day.

  3. Michelle says:

    thanks for coming by and leaving a comment…my step father served in Viet Nam as well, 7th Calvary. My hats off to you…my ex husband (an Airborne Ranger always told me that he was trained by the best, the Vietnam Vets) Praying you find some peace in your memories! Thank you for serving!!!Grace to youShell

  4. Kuskulana says:

    I agree with the point about WWII vets passing, my Dad was a B-24 Bomber Pilot and is gone, all the crew who served with him are gone. My father in law was infantry and is gone. Guess it’s up to the sons and daughters and historians to pass it on, and of course vets and patriots like you.I do take exception that you deserve less than they, just because you served in a different and more contreversial conflict. The veterans who serve honerably should not have to shoulder the political mistakes and battles of the administrators and in the case of Viet Nam, the public opinion. That’s my opinion.

  5. Sue says:

    Hey, your tours were for the good of the country too! Hope your Veteran’s Day was a good one. Know it must be hard losing so many friends in a war—any war. My Dad was a WWII vet, in the Navy, on a weather ship in the Pacific. My son, S, is now in the Navy, still defending our freedoms and is not less important. So, thank YOU, BOB, for serving our country! I know a lot of the WWII vets are gone now, but they are not forgotten!

  6. Dana says:

    Sorry Bob, but everytime I post my gratitude for our veterans I always think of you first! You carried on that legacy that those in WWI and WWII fought so hard for. Each generation carrying on those traditions and men being born with that call and serve so unselfishly.. nope got to honor you as well as those before you. Thank you!

  7. GreatGranny says:

    All honorable vets should receive honor, not only ww2 vets, but Viet Nam vets as well who were so brave to fight in that war. Thank you, Bob for serving our country.

  8. Kat says:

    Aw Bob-a-roo. I’m sorry. I forgot to pop over here and wish you a most excellent Veterans Day and thank you for your service to help keep us all free.Stress of going to care for EWO has consumed most of my thoughts. I’ll be glad when I am home again next Saturday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

