Thanksgiving Day

 
All in all the day went very well.  We spent the day ay my SIL and BIL’s house in Rancho Cucamonga along with 30 other people… half of which I didn’t know. This is my BIL, Jason, who made 3 turkeys.  Smoked, BBQ’d and roasted.  Check out his apron!!  lol!  He’s a Paramedic.
 
 
And my SIL, Mary Beth.  Great cook, especially Cajon.
 
 
 They had plenty of help!!
 
 
This is Becky and her Mom
 
 
And here is part of the ‘spread’!
 
 
To my surprise, they have three new pets!
 
Bill the cat
 
 
Casey the Chihuahua mix
 
 
And my favorite, Iris!!  I nicknamed her ‘Scrufty’!!  Love the name Iris!!  LOL!
 
 
 So after a great dinner we took the long drive home, except halfway home the ‘Fit Hit The Shan’!!!  We were on the Interstate  and traffic was backed up so we decided to use the toll road.  Now on these toll roads everyone drives at least 80mph.  And as luck would have it, we get a flat tire on the Z.  Becky was driving so she pulled over as far as possible onto the small shoulder.  As cars are whipping past us, inches away, she yells at me to get out of the car ‘Quick’!!  I told her that I don’t do quick!!!  But I find a break in the traffic and we both moved away from the car.  She calls AAA and in 20 minutes this young guy pulls up in a tow truck.  Let me tell ya, you couldn’t pay me enough to do his job!!  On his back, partially in the fast lane, jacking up the car and putting on the funny little tire.  Oh yeah, in the dark!!!  You can bet he looked nervous!!  We gave him a huge tip and were on our way.  I had my camera in my pocket but didn’t think to take pictures!!  Dang!!
 
Today we took her car to a tire shop and they found THREE nails and a screw in it.  And the tire was shredded!!
 
Pretty exciting Thanksgiving, huh??  Hope yours was less stressful.  Actually, I hope yours was Perfect.
Have a Wonderful weekend!
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thanksgiving Day

  1. John says:

    WOW, From the sounds of it you had a very Exciting Thanks Giving! ((the Food looked really Good) as i am sure you were not excited on the Flat tire Experience.I am Happy that you are all alright, so you can continue to keep on Keeping us informed on what going on! Thanks for sharing!John

  2. John says:

    PS. I sure would like to get an Apron like Bil had, do you know were i can get one, with the same saying?

  3. Joe says:

    Our Thanksgiving was fine enough but this weekend is just crazy…no relief until Monday…concerts at the mall on black Friday all the way through the day…ugh. Tomorrow we have conerts until the afternoon then my daughter has her first dance for the Nutcracker Suite then I teach on Sunday then we go out of state for another concert…it’s weekends like that I’d just as soon be done with. Well, have a good one for me Bob!

  4. john says:

    Shreded tire for turkey day does not sound like fun…..the rest looked yummy…. then there were the animals. iris with a B.

  5. Grandpa Dewey says:

    A bad ending to a great story. I am with you, I wouldn’t want a AAA job. Glad that you and the family made it home safe and sound.

  6. Dana says:

    I’m so happy you had a HAPPY Thanksgiving! The food looked yummy, and wow cooked 3 different ways, I’ve said this before but I need some new friends that know how to cook like y’all do! The tire.. UGH. I’m always in fear of something like that happening, but good luck for you that it didn’t fly all kinds of ways and make it impossible to pull over! So a blessing it wasn’t worse! Happy to see you with all of the family too!

  7. Sue says:

    Sounds like you had an exciting day! The food and company looked fun and yummy (the food!), and the pet pics were great too. So sorry you had the flat tire thing, but happy you were able to get to a safe spot and call AAA. I’ve had AAA ever since I got my first drivers license and SWEAR by them. It is truly worth the money to have their help when you need them. Our Thanksgiving was good and tasty and I didn’t have to cook but we ended up with lots of leftover—I’d say THAT is practically perfect! I did watch my annual "THE GREAT RACE" that evening and enjoyed it immensely—especially the pie fight. Enjoy the weekend and stay out of those crazy crowds, if you can.

  8. maillady says:

    Food looks great! Leave it to you to find their pets. Could you clip that Chihuahua’s nails pleae? Yikes!

  9. Sanjana says:

    wow Bob……….what a spread and what beautiful people too……..Beckys SIL looks pretty………….but hell the spread looks awesome………Dang why couldnt Thanksgiving be in December when Im visiting???????? lmao…………..geez Bob………………I havent spoken to yah in ages………..and Im beginning to think I might have to run naked past your blog to get your attention…………lmao……………now I might have considered that………..but hell with everthing moving down South………………its not something I will consider……………lmao…………….

  10. sweeti's says:

    as always wonderful food on ur bog.The ppl are awesome One big family..the most fantastic foto are those 2 taken from their back..hihiare they waiting for the left overs?we dont celebrate Thanksgiving Bob.but i enjoy with u watching these pics.I can understand u took a deep breath when u got home safeCya Mj

Leave a Reply

