The Ice Bowl

 
I watched Monday Night Football and they complained about the cold.  Wimps!!  Check this out!
 

The 1967 game, played on December 31 at Lambeau Field in Green Bay, Wisconsin, remains the coldest NFL game on record in terms of actual air temperature. (The coldest in terms of wind chill was the Freezer Bowl.) The official game-time temperature was −13°F / −25°C, with a wind chill around −48°F / −44°C. Using the new wind chill index put into use in 2001, the wind chill was −36°F. The bitter cold overwhelmed Lambeau’s new turf heating system, leaving the playing surface hard as a rock and nearly as smooth as ice. The officials were unable to use their whistles after the opening kick-off. As the referee blew his metal whistle to signal the start of play, it froze to his lips. For the rest of the game, the officials used voice commands and calls to end plays and officiate the game.

The University of Wisconsin–La Crosse (then Wisconsin State University–La Crosse) Marching Chiefs band were scheduled to perform the pre-game and half time shows. However, during warm-ups in the brutal cold, the woodwind instruments froze and wouldn’t play; the mouthpieces of brass instruments got stuck to the players’ lips; and seven members of the band were transported to local hospitals for hypothermia. The band’s further performances were cancelled for the day.

That’s beyond cold!!  That’s Arctic cold!!!  Packers won 21 to 17.  I’m so glad I live in So Cal!!  Turning up the heat!

 ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************

 Some things that tick me off!  (Hope they cease in 2010)

1.  People who park in front of my house and stare in the picture window for 3 hours.

2.  Taking a short cut that someone suggested, only to find it’s longer.

3.  AT&T !

4.  My dog (Baxter) jumping from the tile floor and peeing on the carpet!  He’s 3 years old, for crying out loud!!

5.  My newspapers thrown under my car.

6.  Weathermen!

7.  Boken kys on my Kybord

8.  MSN!!

9.  Second hand smoke.

10. Pistachios that just won’t open.

More another time.  I have a list going!!

Have a Very Happy New Year!!!

www.fileden.com/files/2007/2/19/795611/Jamey%20Johnson%20-%20In%20Color.mp3

 

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Ice Bowl

  1. Joe says:

    People parking without consideration is a good one, I affectionately (or not so affectionately) call "short cuts" like that "long cuts", AT&T…don’t know don’t use ’em, dogs peeing on the floor, no, I won’t ever miss that, don’t get the newspaper, my weather is on-line, I have an amazing keyboard…I’m a blogger and a game so it must be!, MSN, eh, don’t care much one way or another really, I hate, hate, hate second hand smoke too, love pistachios that won’t open too…I love ’em but not when they won’t open LOL! See we’ve got some things in common just not the love of sports and speedos!

  2. GreatGranny says:

    #7 would drive you nuts…lol and I despise AT&T !!! There’s gotta be a lotta frostbite on that football field.

  3. Kat says:

    oh, oh!! I gotta make a top to tick off list too LOL

  4. Tom says:

    Actually quite a balmy day for Green Bay. I’d vote for #10 even the ones that open are a waste of time and energy.

  5. Dana says:

    You really have to wear clothes when you’re in front of that picture window Bob, it would cease the pet peeve # 1. I agree with the pistachio (that’s why the first part of the word is "pis" cuz it’s what you say when they can’t be opened), Verizon is my arch enemy but I think it’s a one sided war, and pretty much everything else you said I agree, except Baxter doesn’ pee on my carpet so I’m ok with him. Happy New year buddy!

  6. Sue says:

    Love the part about the official’s whistle sticking to their lips in the cold! Ha! I can just picture that…Great list of peeves—not just pistachios not opening but sunflower seeds or pumpkin seeds, etc. all drive me nuts (no pun intended). Along with the broken keyboard keys is a mouse malfunctioning! But now that I got a new one for Christmas, I can’t complain about it anymore! Have a fun New Year celebration (if you can stay awake that long—I can’t) and don’t watch too much football on New Years Day or you’ll burn your eyeballs out…

  7. Isabelle says:

    You will be the last one I will be visiting tonight!Thank you for your e-card. Sorry for not sending one to you for I have been some acting up using the site.Still you are always in my heart Bobiroo…. but I still don’t get your updates and it is frustrating!!!I wish you a Happy New Year 2010 to you and Becky and all you fury family… specially Bonnie!Hugs,Isa

Leave a Reply

