Tiny Houses

 
I thought this was interesting.  None of these houses are over 1000 sq. feet.  Which one do you like?
 
Between the green living boom and the nation’s financial gloom, the notion of downsizing – getting more out of living with less – resonates loudly. Shown here: the cover image of Delta Shelter, a steel and glass structure in Mazama, Wash.
 
Though small in stature, the place is hard to miss amid the traditional shotgun houses of the uptown neighborhood. This project was finished just as Hurricane Katrina hit; fortunately, given the threat of flooding, the architects had designed it to sit off the ground.
 
The exterior of the Snowboarders Cottage, perched on a Czech ski slope, is titanium-zinc.
 
This 119-square-foot steel-framed tree house Between Magnolia and Pine. It’s near Osnabruck, Germany.
 
This 75-foot-long boat is wrapped in aluminum skin
 
The Nomad Home is assembled from prefabricated modules, including a bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. Extra rooms, a garage and a terrace are add-ons.
 
The steel skeleton and reinforced plastic skin are meant to emulate a traditional Japanese paper lantern. Visitors enter the 96-foot-long foyer, and steps lead down to a living area, kitchen and bathroom below grade, all illuminated by natural light from above.
 
This is essentially a 12.5-by-3-foot toolbox outfitted with a fire cauldron, gardening tools, a picnic table, even a retractable awning — all that one would need to live the simple life outdoors. The ladder leads to a cushioned open-air platform for sleeping.
 
Another view
 
 
This is a prefabricated flat-pack structure that yields a 500-square-foot interior.  is a prefabricated flat-pack structure that yields a 500-square-foot interior.
 
 

The Box House in New South Wales, Australia.
 
Completed in eight days by Catholic University of America students, the Floating Eco Lodge is an ironwood structure set atop a balsa raft. The thatch roof allows some natural light inside but blocks the most intense rays and heat. The pitched roof also creates a chimney effect, drawing hot air out of the 322-square-foot space inside.
 
Box home in Oslo, Norway.
 
The 76-square-foot aluminum cube has two double beds, a dining table.   It has a well-equipped kitchen, a toilet, a shower and, allegedly, leftover room for storage.
 
A log cabin would work for me too!  Without the outhouse!!!
 
Hope you had a Great weekend!!
 
 
 

 

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tiny Houses

  1. CAROL says:

    Gracious Bob.. those are unusual indeed. I think the Nomad modular one would suit me okay.. all on one level and can add on whatever you like. I love the water but I sure wouldn’t want to live on it! Some of those are pretty wild. Hope your new year is great! : )

  2. Rambling says:

    Happy New Year Bob.

  3. john says:

    living down at the marina, rolling to the tide, bbq on dock. float off to……..

  4. maillady says:

    Gosh, the house I live now seems too small.

  5. Kuskulana says:

    I like the first two OK, but would need a big garage for all my stuff, at least twice as big as the living space!I don’t take up much space but my adventure items do.Happy New Year from Alaska

  6. Kat says:

    Those are kind of cool. I read about people living in shipping containers. There’s some rather innovative designs out there. Here’s some pics to a few I found tonight. http://green.yahoo.com/blog/daily_green_news/8/twelve-amazing-shipping-container-houses.html

  7. Grandpa Dewey says:

    I will pick the sixth one, prefab Nomad home looks nice.Great pics

  8. Joe says:

    I guess I’ll join the prefab crowd Bob, I like the idea of being able to add on as I need to. I am not going to hold my breath on that however since we pretty much need the space we have and with the kids at home I can’t even see shrinking down the size of our living space. Cool look at some unique houses though, thanks for sharing.

  9. Isabelle says:

    Picture 1, 2 and 4 caught my eyes! Mmmmmm…. still I think that I would go for Picture no. 4, the Nomad home. It looks quite futuristic…. Natural lightning is very important to me!And a Very Happy New Year to you and Becky as well as all my furry little friends!Hugs,Isa.P.S Do not hesitate to drop by anytime!

  10. Jade says:

    I like it! Just stick it where it is warm & it’ll be fine!

Leave a Reply

