The ‘Procedure’.

 
Well, even though I dreaded the outcome, I went in today for my Ultrasound.  It couldn’t have turned out better!  NO Phlebitis and all of the veins are working perfectly.  It took an hour to scan both legs from groin to feet but I feel so releived.  Thank you for all of your well-wishes and prayers.  It turns out that I have Edema  in both legs which can be resolved with a simple diuretic.  Also, since I’ve been sleeping on the recliner at night,with my feet elevated, my feet are back to normal… at least as normal as they were.  My doctor is in surgery tomorrow so I’ll see him next week.  I need to find out what caused it.  Many possibilties but I have cut back on salt and fluid intake.  So now you’re stuck with me!!  lol!!
 
I read something today that blew me away.  At a WalMart in New Jersey, someone got on the intercom and said, "All black people please leave the store now!".  WalMart doesn’t know if it was a shopper or an employee but they sure are embarassed!!  Big boycott coming up.
 
Finally, and sadly:
 
Fess Parker, whose star-making portrayal of frontiersman Davy Crockett on television in the mid-1950s made him a hero to millions of young baby boomers and spurred a nationwide run on coonskin caps, died Thursday. He was 85.

Parker, who played another pioneer American hero on television’s "Daniel Boone" in the 1960s before retiring from acting a decade later and becoming a successful Santa Barbara hotel developer and Santa Ynez Valley winery owner, died of complications from old age at his home near the winery, family spokeswoman Sao Anash said.

Parker was a struggling 29-year-old actor in 1954, with rugged, boyish good looks and a soft Texas drawl, when Walt Disney was looking for someone to play the lead in a three-part saga about Crockett. The three hourlong shows were scheduled to air during the premiere season of Disney’s weekly "Disneyland" TV show, which began on ABC that fall.

James Arness was one of the many actors considered for the role. But although Disney watched Arness during a screening of the science-fiction thriller "Them!" another young actor in a small part caught his eye: the 6-foot-6 Parker.

"Davy Crockett, Indian Fighter," the first of the initial three Crockett adventures, aired on "Disneyland" on Dec. 15, 1954, and unexpectedly turned Parker into an overnight sensation.

TV’s "King of the Wild Frontier" also touched off a merchandising frenzy: 10-million coonskin caps were sold, along with toy "Old Betsy" rifles, buckskin shirts, T-shirts, coloring books, guitars, bath towels, bedspreads, wallets — anything with the Crockett name attached.

Viewers also fell in love with the show’s catchy theme song. Bill Hayes’ version of "The Ballad of Davy Crockett" soared to No. 1 on the hit parade and remained there for 13 weeks. And there were a couple of dozen other recordings of the song, including those by Tennessee Ernie Ford, Burl Ives, Fred Waring and the Pennsylvanians and Parker himself.

"It was an explosion beyond anyone’s comprehension," Parker recalled decades later. "The power of television, which was still new, was demonstrated for the first time."

Even Disney was taken by surprise.

"We had no idea what was going to happen to ‘Crockett,’ " he later said. "Why, by the time the first show finally got on the air, we were already shooting the third one and calmly killing Davy off at the Alamo. It became one of the biggest overnight hits in TV history, and there we were with just three films and a dead hero."

The studio quickly rebounded, rushing two Crockett "prequel" adventures into production for the second season of "Disneyland" and editing the first three episodes into a feature film, "Davy Crockett, King of the Wild Frontier," which was released in May 1955. The two later TV segments, again featuring Buddy Ebsen as Crockett’s sidekick George Russel, were turned into a 1956 feature film, "Davy Crockett and the River Pirates."

During a cross-country personal appearance tour in the summer of 1955, as many as 20,000 fans reportedly showed up to greet the actor when he landed at each city’s airport.

Hopalong Cassidy,

Roy Rogers and the Lone Ranger already HAD captivated television’s first generation of young viewers when the first Crockett adventure aired, but nothing before had equaled the effect of the buck-skinned hero.

"Those Davy Crockett episodes really brought American history — indeed, a Disney version of American history — to the playground as well as to the American living room," Robert Thompson, director of the Center for the Study of Popular Television at Syracuse University, told The Times some years ago.

"You not only could watch these programs, but you could play them, dress up like them, make the Davy Crockett aesthetic infiltrate every part of your life," said Thompson. "And, of course, those coonskin caps: No self-respecting kid under the age of 12 could go through American life without one."

But although "you can merchandise and market and promo something like crazy," Thompson said, "I think, in the end, for something like this to succeed, you’ve got to have an actor who can pull it off, and Fess Parker made a great Davy Crockett."

Born in Fort Worth on Aug. 16, 1924, and reared in San Angelo, Texas, Parker served in the Navy during World War II. He graduated with a degree in history from the University of Texas on the G.I. Bill in 1950, but by then he had developed a new interest: acting.

Moving to Hollywood in the summer of 1950, Parker landed an agent but discovered it wasn’t as easy to land a screen test: "They weren’t interested in wasting film on a tall, gangly guy with a broken tooth and a funny drawl."

With a year left on his G.I. Bill, Parker enrolled at USC with the goal of getting a master’s degree in theater history. But small acting jobs soon got in the way of that goal.

By the summer of 1951, he had gotten a job as a $32-a-week extra in the national company of "Mr. Roberts." And by that fall, he was on location playing a small role in "Untamed Frontier," starring Joseph Cotten and Shelley Winters.

 

Tipping my coonskin cap.  RIP Fess…

 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The ‘Procedure’.

  1. john says:

    good news… glad to hear

  2. Joe says:

    What good news about your diagnosis so far! I’m glad we’re stuck with ya Bob! I just heard about Fess Parker…that’s some before my time but none the less I sure am familiar with the Davy Crocket role…wow, how about that?

  3. Grandma's says:

    Well, I for one, am thankful we are stuck with you Bob. I was on your space not two minutes before you posted this blog. So happy to read that the problem is Edema and not Phlebitis…..and since you are home….NO BLOOD CLOT in the lung?? That is very good news….had me worried there buddy.Fess Parker was one of my all-time favorites…I too tip my coonskin cap to him. Take Care, my friend

  4. Hey Jude says:

    I’m so very glad that you don’t have phlebitis and I’m also so very glad they use ultrasound nowadays to test for that! (I once had the old fashioned dye test for phlebitis…..needle in the vein at the bottom of my big toe – can you say ow??!!)Make sure you eat bananas while you’re on the diuretic, it can play havoc with your potassium levels.Are you able to wear compression stockings? I’m supposed to for my lymphedema, but I’m kind of bad about remembering. But it does help get some of the fluid back up throughout the day.Take care, rest up and hope you have a great weekend. 🙂

  5. Tom says:

    Good news. You have one less thingin common with Richard Nixon

  6. Sandra says:

    I am so glad that everythings under control,or Gods control. I thank GOD your alright.Would you believe i remember "Davey Crocket. King of the wild frontier. 1954 i was just a little girl. Take care.

  7. Stephen Craig says:

    Bob, Good news for you! As ever be well, my friend

  8. Sue says:

    Great tribute to Fess! Do visit my Fess space too. He was quite an icon in our day, huh?! I even put up HIS version of the Crockett theme song…it’s my favorite one. Hope things work out OK with those legs of yours. Sounds like you have a handle on the problem. I think we ALL need to cut back on the salt intake (but I truly LOVE salt!). Have a great day and an even better weekend Bob.

  9. Lisa R. says:

    Hi Bob, Your blog didn’t show up in my updates and I was wondering about you. So glad to hear everything turned out all right! Your friend, Lisa.

  10. Nancy says:

    Hi Bob! good news! I am smiling while I type this =]….just dropping by to see whats happening in your world….

  11. Sandra says:

    How are you feeling? Alot better?

  12. SHIRLEY K says:

    How wonderful to read about these old shows that I enjoyed and still look at today on the internet. You are a jewel!! Your illness is in GOD’s hands, and things will be as HE wants and has planned them to be. I am greatful HE put you on the net to share the stories like these. Keep tipping your coonskin cap, I’ll smilingly accept your acknowledgement of a lady with a slight bow of my head and a sweet smile. I have some problems with my legs too!!

  13. -Grumps- says:

    Cutting back on salt certainly can’t hurt. There’s enough ‘a sodium in near everything we eat anyways without adding to it. Good ta see that things is lookin positive. Although I can remember wantin one, I don’t believe I ever did get a coonskin hat. Davy Crockett, and Daniel Boone were both occasions for family viewing back in the day. Take good care Ciao Fer Now …

Leave a Reply

