Memorial Day Poem

 
 

We walked among the crosses


We walked among the crosses
Where our fallen soldiers lay.
And listened to the bugle
As taps began to play.

The Chaplin led a prayer
We stood with heads bowed low.
And I thought of fallen comrades
I had known so long ago.

They came from every city
Across this fertile land.
That we might live in freedom.
They lie here ‘neath the sand.

I felt a little guilty
My sacrifice was small.
I only lost a little time
But these men lost their all.

Now the services are over
For this Memorial Day.
To the names upon these crosses
I just want to say,

Thanks for what you’ve given
No one could ask for more.
May you rest with God in heaven
From now through evermore.

Author unknown

************************************************************************************************************************

My Dr appointment went much better than I imagined.  He checked my vitals (blood pressure, pulse, etc) and said everything was perfect.  Then he checked my foot and told me that it was healing perfectly, so no hospital and no antibiotics…. Only more diuretics at half the strength as the last ones.  He said to keep using the antibiotic ointment and continue with the iron pills.  That was it!!  Next appointment is in 3 months!  He also told me that I had gained 15lbs (good thing!) and was looking much healthier.  Tuesday will be more blood tests.

Anyhow, have a wonderful weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Memorial Day Poem

  1. Grandma's says:

    A very touching tribute, Bob!!Glad all went well at the doc’s.Have a wonderful weekend, my friend.

  2. Stephen Craig says:

    No visit for three months is good news indeed. My next follow up with the surgeon is on this Wed. Saw my nutritionist this past Wed and am up ten lbs. She asked me what I had for breakfast, oatmeal I replied with over easy fried eggs. Then she asked me what I had for dinner last night. Venison stew was my answer and she was nearly drooling when I told her how to make it the right way. Or at least my way. Smile! Wish you a good, great, safe and meaningful Memorial Day Weekend and as ever be well. Stephen Craig Rowe

  3. Jade says:

    Whew! Great news- now have a great weekend!

  4. Sue says:

    Great news indeed! I guess it’s time to drag out the camera and start walking (when your foot allows, of course) again! Always look forward to your trek to the grocery store. Wish I could lose weight that easily, but am glad just to be healthy and happy the way I am. Have a super weekend and enjoy our sunny weather!

  5. sweeti's says:

    Thats good news Bobwow im so happy for u.and the poem for the memorial is beautifulwe never forgetMJ

  6. Laoch says:

    Good health wishes to you. I truly hate taking my diuretic.

  7. Kat says:

    Gotcha back, Bob-a-roo! Phew 🙂 Thank you! and Happy Memorial Day to you

Leave a Reply

