Fathers Day

 
We spent the day visiting Mrs Serious’ Mom and Dad’s at their home.  Since it was Fathers Day her Dad, Jerry, got to watch golf ALL day!  UGH!!!  Besides that, we all had a great time.  My job was to run the grill and let me tell you,  That is the hottest grill I’ve ever used!  I had it set to low and within three minutes the temp was 350F!  And Jerry didn’t have gloves… 
 
They had recently returned from Nebraska and as usual, they brought back with them these hot dogs called ‘Wimmer’s Weiners’!  Those things are the BEST!  All beef, no fillers at all and they are linked together with a natural casing.  Kinda like ‘cartoon’ hot dogs. LOL!  So we filled up on them along with the usual sides.  Baked beans, potato salad, watermelon, etc.  Good Eats!!
 
Jerry has a fantastic garden so after eating, I walked through and took pictures.  Everything from cactus and succulents to fruit trees and vegatables.  I’ll post my photos below.  All in all it was a fun day:  Great food, perfect weather and golf (again, UGH!!).
 
Here are the photos:
 
These are grapes that he has climbing his garage door
 
A view of the patio
 
 
And another…
 
One more
 
The garden entrance is somewhere!
 
This cracked me up!  LOL
 
Lots of cactus and small palms trees
 
A large cactus and an aloe vera plant
 
Bridle path
 
Fruit trees and vegetables
 
Windmill… No wind today!
 
Large tomato plant… ‘Black Russian’ heirloom
 
 
Fruit trees.  Apples, peaches, apricots and plums
 
Zucchini and onions
 
Another bridle path
 
HUGE cactus – 12 feet tall!
 
He even built an outhouse!
 
Lots of antiques
 
Yet more cactus
 
Jerry’s garage…
 
Yes, he’s a character
 
 
So as I said, the folks are traveling to Nebraska for two weeks and guess who got nominated to water his garden while they’re gone??  Only nine hours a week and I might have help.  I’m not counting on that but I do get to keep anything that becomes ripe.  I just hope I don’t kill anything or fall into a cactus!
 
I hope you all had a GREAT weekend!!
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fathers Day

  1. CAROL says:

    Let me tell ya that is some estate that fella has got! WOW what a lusious place so full of just everything, Wonderful job taking care of all that. Will keep you plenty busy for sure. Careful with the cactus some can be pretty wicked and dangerous.Have fun Bob.. tak e care : )

  2. J says:

    Thanks for the garden tour Bob! Loved it. Good advice about the cigarette butts!

  3. Nancy says:

    I loved the tour Bob! The character of this man AWESOME! A true farmer is one who can grow anything and everything on a small piece of dirt!

  4. Nancy says:

    He has a secret garden there! I don’t think I would ever get tired of touring =]! Thanks Bob!

  5. Jean says:

    Wow!! What a packrat!! And I thought my mom was bad!LOL Beautiful gardens, though.. I could spend all day in there! Send me some Black Russian tomatoes!!!!!hehe Glad you’re doing ok..hugs,Jean

  6. maillady says:

    Just beautiful! Thanks

  7. Dana says:

    That’s awesome! Is that bar in his garage? How cool is that! I would never go home!

  8. GreatGranny says:

    I’d get lost in all that and I would not go down the bridal path…lol Way too much stuff. I guess msn didn’t want all the pics shown…didn’t get to see them all.

Leave a Reply

