Hospital, Again…

 
Well, after my foot was doing so well, it took a big turn for the worse on Sunday night.  Swollen beyond belief with new infections popping up all over.  On Monday, Becky called my doctor and had my appointment changed.  He took one look and sent me immediately to the ER and had me checked in to the hospital.  I had some tests done (MRI, Ultrasound, blood tests, cultures) and they scheduled surgery for Tuesday.  Depending on the MRI results, to see if infection had reached the bone, I would either:
 
A. Lose my remaining four toes on that foot
 
B. Lose half of the foot, or:
 
C. Have only a heel left to walk on.
 
As it turned out, the MRI came back very positive (no bone damage) so they cut away the the infected area and installed a ‘wound vacuum’ which carries away anything that may collect there.  It’s portable and comes with a case and an 18 hour battery so I’ll be carrying that around for awhile. I’been taking IVs of very strong Antibiotics and sleeping alot with my foot elevated.
 
****************************************************************************************************************************************************************
 
Oh, I just found out that I will be going home tomorrow!!!  WOOOO!   
 
My next post will be from there.  Thank you all so much for your thoughts and prayers and just for caring.
Goodbye for now,
Bob~
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hospital, Again…

  1. Kuskulana says:

    Dam buddie, take care!Sending positive energy from lattitude 60!!

  2. Lauren says:

    😦 not nice

  3. CAROL says:

    SO happy you are going home BOB.. Hope the meds kick in and you heal completely!!

  4. Babblelot says:

    Yer in my prayers Bob. Take care of that foot.

  5. Nancy says:

    oh Bob, I am glad no bone infection…hang in there, your still in my prayers =].

  6. Sandra says:

    Take care Bob, your in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

