Progress

 
 Today, after almost two months, I was given my last IV. The machine is being picked up tonight so all that remains is to have that PICC line removed. Probably early next week. I hope it feels better coming out than it did going in! It should be a snap. The nice thing about having a PICC line is that I didn’t have to be stuck by needles twice a day. Rather, the line is a small tube that runs through a vein/artery in my arm and connects to my heart. Not only did the nurses inject the IVs through it but also could draw blood. It was just a little uncomfortable to sleep with.
 
 Now for better news, I had my weekly doctors appointment today and he removed the wound vac. What a relief!! No more lugging that thing around. He then applied Collagen and sutured the wound. No infection present and it’s shrinking by the week.
 
 So finally, I’ll be able to sleep in my regular bed again instead of the tiny one in the guest room. There was just too much equipment for Becky to have to deal with, although she did say she would.
 
 I still have a ways to go but today was a huge step forward for me. The end is in sight.
 
 Have a wonderful, and I hope cool and sunny weekend. And remember tomorrow’s date, never to be forgotten. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Progress

  1. john says:

    Bobglad to hear there has been good progress. I have heard horror stories of infection like yous.give em hell

  2. Kuskulana says:

    No place like ur own bed I think.Positive progress is good!

  3. Jean says:

    Glad to hear you’re finally almost at the end!! I know how nice it is to get rid of that damn wound vac!! Although it was wonderful to have it when you need it, too.. Good for you!!love ya,Jean

  4. Twila says:

    That’s great news Bob! So glad to see you’re getting better & better. Hmm. Just like a fine wine. 😉

  5. maillady says:

    Thats wonderful news! You’ll be dancing in no time!

Leave a Reply

